Atholl Dancing Association, site logo.
  • Next ADA meeting wil be held on Tuesday 28 May 2019 in the Studio at 7.30pm
  • Remember your easy fundraising donations for Logierait Dancers
  • Click here for competition results
  • Sun 12 May - Atholl Dancing Festival, Atholl Palace Hotel, Pitlochry
  • Summer Term - 15 Apr - 13 Jun
  • Summer holiday classes will start week beginning 17 June to end of August
  • Autumn term - 2 Sept - 4 October

Atholl Clasp

Clasp photoAlso at the Millennium Champions Challenge in 2000, Miss Jessie Stewart became the first recipient of the Atholl Clasp. The Atholl Dancing Association wanted the memory of this friendly event to live on through the presentation of "The Atholl Clasp".

To our delight the Board agreed and for the last 17 years, the award has been presented annually to people within the dancing community who have served their sport extremely well. All the recipients have given their lives to Highland Dancing.

Nominations are given to the Board each year and the Office-Bearers select the recipient. ClaspDrawing

A video/DVD was made of the 2000 event, the sales of which are still managing to fund the Clasp which Malcolm Appleby continues to make for us.

Here is the line drawing which Malcolm did of the clasp


Six Atholl Clasp winners present at the 2013 SOBHD AGM:

L to R: Irene McKechnie, Sheena McDonald, Celia Orr, Billy Forsyth, Sandra Bald-Jones, Wilma Tolmie

winners present 2013


Past recipients of the Award.

Elizabeth McLauchlan

2000 Jessie Stewart-Haggarty MBE Jessie Stewart-Haggarty
2001 Evelyn McLaren  JeanRitchieLynnMcLarenJessieStewartOscars
2002 Margaret Todd M Todd 
2003 Marjory Rowan  M Rowan1963
2004 Adeline Duncan  adelinepic
2005 Jean Ritchie  JeanRitchieLynnMcLarenJessieStewartOscars
2006 Heather Jolley  HJ
2007 Sheena McDonald  Sheena_athollclasp
2008 Wilma Tolmie  Wilma Tolmie
2009 Billy Forsyth MBE  Billy_Forsyth_Atholl_Clasp
2010 Sandra Bald-Jones  Sandra
2011 Iain C Macdonald  Iain_Atholl_Clasp
2012 Irene McKechnie  Irene_Atholl_Clasp
 2013  Celia Orr  Celia Orr
2014 Frances Paterson f paterson
2015 Shendl Russell 2015 Clasp winner Shendl-Russell with office bearers
2016  Elizabeth McLauchlan

 E McLauchlan

2017 Betty Sutherland 2017-recipient-Betty-Sutherland-150x150